KOTA KINABALU: Three new assistant ministers took their oath before Head of State  Tun Juhar Mahiruddin at Istana Seri Kinabalu here today. 

Chief Minister Datuk Seri Panglima Haji Hajiji Haji Noor said with the new appointments,  a reshuffle of the existing assistant ministers was also carried out. 

“Today’s appointments and reshuffle of assistant ministers is a continuing effort to  consolidate and strengthen the government administration. 

The appointment of assistant ministers was to fill two positions left vacant by Datuk  James Ratib, former Agriculture and Fisheries Assistant Minister who is now Minister of  Community Development and People’s Wellbeing and Datuk Jasnih Daya who chose to  relinguish his Assistant Finance Minister post to make way for the appointment of others. 

“To build a strong team, I have appointed Datuk Haji Ruslan Muharam from PBS as  Assistant Minister to the Chief Minister, whereas Peto Galim and Tan Lee Fatt from  Pakatan Harapan will assume their role as Assistant Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries  and Assistant Minister of Finance respectively to add to the existing inclusive  administration,” he said. 

Four current assistant ministers involved in the exchange of portfolios are Dato’ Sri Dr  Ruddy Awah (Rural Development), Datuk Harun Durabi (Science, Technology and  Innovation), Datuk Fairuz Renddan (Youth and Sports) and Datuk Andi Suryady Bandy  (Industrial Development). Ruddy and Fairuz are from GRS while Harun and Andi  Suryady are from UMNO/BN. 

“I have stressed the importance for the State Government under my leadership to  function as a cohesive team who share the same aspirations built on mutual trust and  respect. 

“We need a strong team to push our development momentum and to fulfill our election  pledges for the people and state,” he said.